Country Girls Espresso

Springfield, MO

Local Shop

  
T’was a dark and stormy night…

Actually, it was bright and windy and I was hungry. I’ve been eyeing Country Girls Espresso since they opened a couple of years ago. Not only do they serve coffee, but they also make authentic Cuban sandwiches (or apparently athentic ones as their sign above says… Sorry, can’t control the grammar/spelling nazi…) 

I sat outside, waiting for the car to finish ordering, I thought you had to order at the window. The owner walked out and invited me inside to order. I guess if you’re on foot, you can order inside. 😉 I explained that I had never been before but I’d heard good things. I said I didn’t know what to order, although, I had looked at the menu beforehand, so I actually did know what I planned to order, but I wanted to hear his recommendations. He explained that the most popular sandwich was the Cuban (obviously) and offered me a sample of the pork. It was fantastic. I ordered the Country Girls Sandwich which is a pressed sandwich consisting of turkey, cream cheese and your choice of raspberry or guava. He said guava was more popular, so that’s what I went with. He asked if I’ve ever had guava before and I said I’d only had guava flavored drinks. He explained that usually they actually use strawberry kiwi flavors to make a guava flavor for drinks, so he offered me some to try first to be sure I liked it. I’m not sure if it was considered a jelly or not, it was the texture of jellied cranberry sauce.  It sort of tasted like apricot, which I love. He made my sandwich, but before wrapping it up for me, he sliced off a bit for me to try first. (He literally made me try everything in front of him. I honestly believe he wants to make sure people are happy before they leave.) It was incredible. The bread was exactly right, crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. The combination of turkey, cream cheese and guava was to die for.

  
But now, what you really came for… The coffee.

According to Yelp reviews, their Café con Leche is like none other. And I’ve never had one before, so I went for it. It was just sort of sub-par in my opinion, but I don’t have anything to compare it to, besides a latte. 

  
Maybe it was because I had it with soy, I don’t know. Just kinda meh. Certainly not the worst though. It was lightly (ish) sweetened and the coffee wasn’t real strong. I guess you can get it iced, I think I might have enjoyed that more. He also made me try the coffee in front of him and I burned my tongue. 😛 

Overall, customer service and the sandwich were fantastic, coffee was sub-par.

Atmosphere: On the go, short stop after shopping, I didn’t really feel like it was a place I’d want to sit and stay for a while, only on a nice day.

Seating: Three picnic benches

Style: Drive thru coffee shop
Prices: Coffee-low, sandwiches-kinda high 
Overall Rating: ☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️ but as a coffee shop alone probably ☕️☕️☕️
I was not compensated for this review. All views are my own. 

Leave a Reply

