Walkabout Coffee Shop

Nixa, Missouri

Local shop. Uses Brick and Mortar espresso.



What’s funny about this review is that I have been to Walkabout multiple times and was prepared to give a semi-negative review. However, today I was way more impressed with my experience than all other times. I think the reason being was that it was the owner there today instead of the usual one or two teenage girls.

I WAS going to say that their coffee is not all that great, and neither are the frozen drinks, with the exception of The Spotted Dingo. And that nobody behind the counter seems to know what they are doing. But, again, I was lucky enough to be served by the owner today, which made all the difference in the world.



The owners are from Australia and are also the pastors of the church right next door. Walkabout is famous for their Australian meat pies and the shop itself is pretty neat. They have some cool artwork along the walls, as well as Aussie decor and even a didgeridoo. 

I ordered the Crikey Mate panini and a vanilla latte.



Crikey Mate!

The panini was phenomenal. Best sandwich I’ve had in a long time. It had grilled chicken, smoked ham, smoked bacon, sharp cheddar and some sort of rosemary garlic spread. I was kind of wary at first, because of the $6.50 price tag and the experiences I’d had before, but it blew my mind. And it was worth every cent.

Now, onto the coffee, because that’s what we’re really here for, right? (But seriously, that panini is a must have.)



Vanilla Latte

I would advise against their frozen drinks. They use powdered flavorings, and it tastes like it. Although, The Spotted Dingo is actually not bad, if you are really wanting something cold. But I would stick with hot. That’s what they do better. Their lattes have the most foam of any coffee shop I’ve tried. But it’s good foam. Silky, creamy, airy, and super thick. It’s like drinking a cloud. (If clouds were drinkable, of course.) The flavor itself is nothing special; I get so engulfed in the foam that I don’t even pay attention to the taste. If you haven’t figured it out all ready, I have this thing for good microfoam. I just love the texture. And I like how it tastes like espresso. In fact, the only reason I drink hot drinks is for the foam. If a place doesn’t do good foam, I go iced. Walkabout does good foam.

Atmosphere: Sit down, grab and go, study

Seating: Plenty. Small tables, couches, sectioned off areas


Style: Modern, Australian, colorful 

Prices: Medium

Overall Rating: ☕️☕️☕️☕️ (Good job, sir. You raised your rating with me today.) 


I have not been compensated for this review. All reviews are my own.
Leave a Reply

