Ben’s On The Square

Ozark, Missouri

Local shop. Uses Brick and Mortar espresso beans. 



Today Mom and I visited Ben’s On The Square. Now, we’ve been before, but decided we should go again with the intent of me reviewing it and I had never had a hot drink there before. The last two times I’ve been, I ordered something cold. I think the first time I ordered a vanilla frappé which I didn’t like. The next time I ordered a Straightjacket, which is a blended drink consisting of ice cream of your choice and espresso. Those are decent enough. And there is SO much caffeine in one, that you feel like you need a straightjacket to contain yourself. 

This visit, Mom ordered a Cortado. I think those might be her favorite, besides an Americano. I accidentally drank a few sips of it because I thought it was mine. It was more ounces than a typical Cortado. They normally are around 4 ounces, but this was probably 8 ounces. 



The Cortado

I was not very impressed with the appearance. But, despite how it looked, the microfoam was actually very smooth and velvety. It had a nice natural sweetness. 

I ordered a breve latte which I was not very impressed with all around. It also lacked in appearance. And it did not have the sweet creamy milk taste I expected with the half and half.  I ended up adding a bit of honey to it, and that did improve the taste, but it was not something I would order again. Mom’s Cortado tasted way better.

Breve

After three visits, and tasting 4 drinks, I have decided I am not a fan of their coffee. However, the shop itself it adorable, and their sandwiches are worth buying. 



Vintage Decor

Atmosphere: Casual, grab and go, luncheon.

Seating: Moderate, community table.

Style: Vintage

Prices: Medium

Overall Rating: ☕️☕️☕️

I have not been compensated for this review. All reviews are my own. 

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Good to know. I enjoy reading your reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

